Ames is hip deep in Ron Paul!

I’m sorry I’ve taken so long to write about this weekend. Given the adventure that it was, one would think I couldn’t wait to get to the computer. In fact, that’s true, but other events got in my way, which I’ll save for another post…

Saturday dawned early, and Jana and I were at the park by 7:30, eagerly waiting for the first volunteers to show up. I had heard from some people, but I know that Ron Paul supporters are not into blabbing their plans at the request of a stranger, so I really had no idea how many would come.

The first to arrive were a mother and son who had driven all the way from… North Carolina. Yep. North Carolina. They had driven 20 hours to distribute the dvd’s that Jeff Lins and his team of true-hearted editors had made. They said they had been stopping at truck stops and giving Ron Paul flyers to people. She even brought a whole stack of Ron Paul Straw Poll flyers that she had printed at my request. And here’s the amazing part. They could only stay for one day, because she had to work on Monday. This is the kind of dedication I am witnessing again and again from Ron Paul supporters.

Shortly after, a young man arrived from St. Louis. He was young and full of energy, and he worked hard all weekend. Whenever I thought to invite him to rest, he was up and ready for another area to cover. People arrived throughout the morning and afternoon to work. And I mean work.
All in all we had folks from North Carolina, Missouri, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Indiana, Illinois, South Dakota, a beautiful family from Tennessee. Iowans, too, came from all over the state to distribute dvd’s, and many of them took dvd’s with them to distribute in their towns. They were all so motivated and steady – not a single complaint, not a single demand. They just wanted to help. They were inspiring.

So how did we do? In one and a half days, with a group of about 50 people, we distributed 10,000 dvd’s to the people of Ames and surrounding towns. How wonderful is that?

I wish you could have been there on Saturday afternoon to share in the adventure with everyone. We are a varied and delightful crew of characters. When we parted at the end of the day, I felt as though my family was dispersing; I didn’t want to say goodbye. And then something wonderful happened. When I turned to wish safe travels to a man who had traveled many hours to come to Ames, he looked at me and quietly said, “I’ll see you at the inauguration.” And that was how we said goodbye to each other.

Thank you to all of you who helped make the dvd, all of you who came, all of you who e-mailed your support, and all of you who are working to change the course of this country.

If I don’t see you before then, I’ll see you at the inauguration.

8 Responses to “Ames is hip deep in Ron Paul!”

  1. Bret Says:

    How was the response! I want to hear some details! Were people interested, put off, or what? Also, I’m assuming you guys are telling them to watch it and pass it along to family / friends, right?

  2. Karen Sutton Says:

    okay – that was AWESOME!!! I actually teared up reading this – WAY TO GO!!!

  3. Robert M. Says:

    Sounds like people are willing to help the guy get elected. Good I say.

  4. Buckwheat Says:

    Awesome.

  5. ikester8 Says:

    Thank you very much for that report. The idea of meeting everyone at Ron Paul’s inauguration chokes me up a little. What a party it will be!

  6. MG Says:

    With many heartfelt cheers from Philadelphia

  7. Richard Says:

    Thank you, thank you, thank you!

    10,000 DVDs?! That ROCKS! Awesome!

  8. JL Says:

    Thanks for everything you are doing over there. I wish I was close enough to help out.

Leave a Reply

